About Lincoln County...


Lincoln County was established on February 20, 1893. It was formerly a part of Benton and Polk counties. The county seat is the city of Newport. Lincoln County is bordered by Tillamok County (on the north), Polk and Benton Counties (on the east), Lane County (on the south) and the Pacific Ocean (on the west).

The Oregon Secretary of State has additional information.

Points of Interest:

The principal industries include: tourism, fishing, trade and construction.

  • Depoe Bay (whale watching capital of the world as well as the worlds smallest harbor!!)
  • Lincoln City
  • Newport (Oregon's oceanography research center)
  • Siletz (home of the administration center and reservation of the confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians of Oregon)
  • Toledo (Lincoln County's industrial center and former county seat)
  • Waldport

Covered Bridges...

From the Lincoln County Public Works Department "... Nestled in the foothills of the Coast Range, Lincoln County has four covered bridges remaining. These charming bridges are reminders of old days past, and are loved by many within the area. Lincoln County is launching efforts to preserve and restore these bridges.

Lincoln County and the Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) have signed an Interdepartmental Agreement for rehabilitation of the Yachats Covered Bridge. Although work on the bridge will not begin immediately, plans include replacement of key components, new siding, rail and a paint. The total cost of the project is estimated at $665,000 with funding from the National Historic Covered Bridge Preservation Program covering all but 10 percent of the cost of the rehabilitation."

Major Highways...

  • hwy18 Oregon State Highway 18 - is a state highway that runs between the Oregon Coast, near Lincoln City and the Willamette Valley, near Dayton.
  • hwy34 Oregon State Highway 34 - runs between the city of Waldport on the Oregon Coast and the city of Lebanon in the western part of the state.
  • hwy229 Oregon State Highway 229 - that runs along the lower reaches of the Siletz River, on the central Oregon coast. (The route runs entirely within Lincoln County.)
  • hwy20 U.S. Route 20 - a major east-west cross-state highway
  • hwy101 U.S. Rte 101 - a major north-south U.S. Highway (US 101 is designated as the Oregon Coast Highway No. 9)